Summer Prettiness

I love this fabric. 9yo Laura chose it and had very particular ideas about what the dress should be like. The pattern is McCalls 5574 with a few modifications. Because the fabric is a border print I changed the skirt section from a flared piece to a rectangle with pleats, otherwise the border wouldn’t have run straight. The ties at the back are very narrow in the pattern and Laura and I agreed they would be better wider. I didn’t realise until I started cutting out that the midriff section is cut on the bias, but actually it worked out very nicely with the print running diagonally. Definitely a pattern to make again!

mccall-s-patterns-m5574-girls-dresses-size-cs-12-14-16_7354212

Don't be shy, I'd love you to comment!

