Holidays are over

Well my 2 weeks holiday from work is nearly over and I have sewed frantically the entire time. I now need a holiday, but I do feel a great sense of satisfaction at how much I got done. I still haven’t blogged everything I made but here are some more.
This is a shirt I cut out about a year ago, and realised was going to be massively too big so it got shoved in the UFO pile. It is still too big for 6yo Liam, but should be just right next winter. I French-seamed the sleeves just in case he wanted to wear it in Summer with them rolled up and sure enough he likes it so much he wore it to a birthday party on Sunday. The close-ups were taken indoors and seem to be showing the colour more accurately onscreen – it is more purple than blue. The boy did have a moment of looking skeptical and said, “it has flowers on it”, but I just informed him it is paisley not flowers and he seems to be ok with that :p


The shorts are the same pattern as the shorts I posted in my very first blog post. I love this pattern and I love the groovy guitar fabric. It is the same fabric I sent to my EB secret santa last year – I couldn’t resist some for me too!

The hat I cut out a while ago from the scraps of some very cool trousers that I sewed in about 1999. I had endless trouble with the curves not fitting each other, but persevered until they fit in the end. Apparently it is very popular with the other girls at childcare – so much so that Milly keeps telling me, most indignantly, “it’s my hat, NOT Ella’s hat. It’s my hat, not Anne’s hat…LOL! As long as she doesn’t share it with any nits I’ll be happy.

Don't be shy, I'd love you to comment!

